Testimonials

* Are required fields

  •    
  •    
  • "Interesting memu items that offer refined dining at an acceptable price. The restaurant provides a very welcoming environment with wonderful food, wine, and service. The personal touch of the chef and his wife are evident throughout the meal. Probably the best restaurant in Memphis."

    Guest 02.10.10
  • Dear Chef Jensen; I had the immense pleasure to dine at your restaurant this past Saturday, Feb 13th and I wanted to send a note with our compliments. To sum it up, it was a world class dining experience easily on par and surpassing meals that we have eaten in NY, SF or cities in Europe. My wife enjoyed the tasting menu, while I ordered a la carte. Jennifer was attentive and helpful and offered great counsel as I pondered my choices. Ultimately, I decided on the foie gras, scallop salad, duck breast and finished with the chocolate souffle'. Every item was outstanding - beautifully presented, premium ingredients, delicious flavors but not fussy or overly complicated and served perfectly. (hot items hot, cold items cold). My wife really enjoyed the tasting menu and your manager/sommelier was great in bringing the wine and in explaining about it's origin and the characteristics that made it a good pair for the specific food item.Finally, we both enjoyed our desserts and were surprised to see that over 2 hours had passed since we had first been seated as the night seemed to pass so pleasantly and quickly. I am not in the habit of writing notes of this type, however, this was such an outstanding experience that I wanted to send our sincere compliments to you and your staff. We look forward to dining with you again in the future and to bringing our friends, family, clients and colleagues to join us when we do.

    Guest 2.13.10
  • I have to say that my fiancee and I absolutley love this place! We both came in Last Thursday for our birthday dinner! We brought a bottle of Duckhorn Paraduxx and and we had the ahi tuna, goat cheese salad, bison ribeye, sole, and the chocolate makers mark dessert. Everything was fantastic! Micah our server was great, the ambiance was great, everything was great! I work for athens distributing and I am a wine salesman for the retail side of the company. I love to eat out and I do atleast four times a week. This restaurant takes the cake! We are in love with this place and we will be back as much as possible!

    Guest 3.2010
  • "Best restaurant in Memphis without a question (and has been for years)."

    Guest 4.19.10
  • "We have been fans of this wonderful restaurant for years and this visit certainly did not disappoint. The real surprise was the wonderful prixe fixe menu for the night. The appetizers, entrees, and deserts were as imaginative and delicious as we have come to expect and the portion of each was appropriate. So, after a wonderful meal, we left without feeling guilty or overly stuffed."

    Guest 5.30.10
  • "Our dinning experience was one of the best we have ever encountered. From the moment we drove up, the valet greated us warmly and made us feel special. Once inside we were greated promptly and immediately knew this was going to be a very special dinning experience. The Wine list was great and offered many options. Throughout the night Chef Jensen came by our table and wanted to make sure that everything was perfect. This unique service is not found often. The food was Exquisite and perfectly prepeared and plated. I would highly recommend Erling Jensens and look forward to returning in the future." Special Features: notable wine list, romantic, special occasion Food (Outstanding) Ambiance (Outstanding) Service (Outstanding) Restaurant Experience: Noise Level (Quiet) By an OpenTable.com user who dined on 07/13/2010 (review submitted 07/15/2010)

    Guest 7.13.10
  • Overall Rating (Outstanding) "The entire experience was excellent. We partook of the wine and food tasting selection and had 5 excellent wines with the 5 courses. All the wines were explained to us as to the year, region etc. and the service was caring and fantastic. Mr. Erling Jensen came over to say hello, which was a treat!" Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, romantic, special occasion Food (Outstanding) Ambiance (Outstanding) Service (Outstanding) Restaurant Experience: Noise Level (Quiet) By an OpenTable.com user who dined on 06/25/2010 (review submitted 06/27/2010)

    guest
  • Overall Rating (Outstanding) "The entire experience was excellent. We partook of the wine and food tasting selection and had 5 excellent wines with the 5 courses. All the wines were explained to us as to the year, region etc. and the service was caring and fantastic. Mr. Erling Jensen came over to say hello, which was a treat!" Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, romantic, special occasion Food (Outstanding) Ambiance (Outstanding) Service (Outstanding) Restaurant Experience: Noise Level (Quiet) By an OpenTable.com user who dined on 06/25/2010 (review submitted 06/27/2010)

    guest
  • "Erling Jensen offers absolutely delicious food, a wonderful wine list and very nice service, all in a lovely, relaxing setting. For me it is definitely a special occasion kind of place, as it is rather expensive, but oh so worth it. I highly recommend it." 11-12-10

    Open Table Customer
  • Eling Jensen is a fine dining restaurant who's food could stand up in any major city in the world. Rack of Lamb, Halibut, Bison Filet and Elk Chop were the four entrees order by our party and all received rave reviews. Chocolate Souffle' was the best we have ever had. Will definitely go back during my next trip to Memphis. A+++!

    Dined on 8.10.11
  • Erring and his staff always provide a truly top notch dining experience. This is clearly the best restaurant of its tyoe in Memphis. It is perfect for celebrating special occasions and for quiet romantic dinners. The menu is very unique and every item is done with great care.

    Dine on 7.25.11
  • We ate at your wonderful restaurant last night for the first time but it will not be our last! From the moment we walked in, the evening was perfect! Perfect service, perfect atmosphere, perfect food! It was like stepping back in time! We were treated as valued guest! And the food could not have been better! My only complaint is that we haven't found you earlier! You are now our very favorite restaurant! Can't wait to come back!

    Charles and Pat Ennis
  • This is a great little restaurant with a very good wine list. They have partitions that can be opened or closed if other sections get noisy. There were no children the night we were there but the partitions would be helpful if there were. The menu is eclectic and creative. And the chef will make something special to suit your dietary needs, as was the case with us. We requested a specific drink and mixer when we scheduled our reservation and they had it ready for us when we ordered! The wait staff was excellent and "slowed things down" as requested during our evening. It's a pricey place so go with the understanding that a glass of wine can cost what an entrée is at another place. 4-12-14

    Open Table Review
  • he evening could not have been better! From the lobster pancake, fois gras, and crawfish bisque, through the elk, lamb, and sea bass with truffled gnocchi, to the chocolate soufflé, and banana's Foster souffle, including the wine, limoncello, and coffee, each part of the dinner built to create a terrific dinning experience. The staff was knowledgable, attentive, and gracious. We had no idea how late it was. We were enjoying good food, good wine, and good friends and were not aware of the time. When we left, we realized that we were the last ones in the restaurant. Our car was waiting at the front door, but there had been no effort to rush us out. We have had very fine meals here, in the past. This one stood out as remarkable!---4-11-14

    Open Table Review
  • Once again I bragged to my guest about having reservations at the best restaurant in town, and once again Erling Jensen delivered (in a big way!). Our meal last Saturday night could not have been better. From the atmosphere of the restaurant, uncrowded at 6pm, but hopping by 7:30pm, to the ultimate bottle of Chardonnay, to the incredible entrees (Monkfish for me / Scallops for her), to the chocolate soufflé to die for. Our server offered the perfect level of attentiveness without intrusion… and as we walked out the front door, rather than having to summon the valet, he magically had our car waiting. It just doesn't get any better than this. Do yourself a huge favor and take yourself to Erling Jensen's this weekend 3-29-14

    Open Table Review
  • From the moment we walked in we were treated as welcome guests at a fine dining restaurant. Menu items and specials were explained with knowledge and care. Every dish included a beautiful presentation and preparation. (Very fresh food with a variety of options.) While Erling Jensens is not a vegan restaurant we had a vegan guest with us and every course was adapted for his diet and to his liking. (He commented it was like they really cared) There were little surprises between each course. We had a wonderful meal and vowed to return soon. This restaurant is fine dining but not pretentious. This would not be a restaurant where I would take small children. Highly recommend for special occasions or that night when you want attentive service and a meal you will remember for awhile 1-15-14

    Trip Advisor Review